SCHS: About the Society — Rosette Detail

Hughes-Gossett Award for Best Journal Article

The Supreme Court Historical Society annually presents the Hughes-Gossett Award for Best Journal Article submitted to the Journal of Supreme Court History. The winner of the Best Journal Article receives a $1,500 cash prize.

Previous Winners


Rachel Shelden won the 2022 Award for her article titled “Anatomy of a Presidential Campaign from the Supreme Court Bench: John McLean, Levi Woodbury, and the Election of 1848. “ She is an Associate Professor of History and Director of the George and Ann Richards Civil War Era Center at Penn State University.


David W. Levy won the 2021 Award for his article titled “Twenty-One Months of Hell and the Supreme Court to the Rescue in McLaurin v. Oklahoma State Regents.” He is retired as the Irene and Julian J. Rothbaum Professor of Modern American History and David Ross Boyd Professor of History at the University of Oklahoma.


Craig Alan Smith won the 2020 Award for his article titled “Make Way for Tomorrow: How Tom C. Clark Departed From and (Almost) Returned to the Supreme Court.” He is a professor of history at Pennsylvania Western University and is working on a biography of Justice Clark.


Linda Przybyzewski won the 2018 Hughes Gossett Award. Professor Przybyzewski is an Associate Professor of History at the University of Notre Dame. Her prize-winning article is entitled: “Scarlet Fever, Stanley Matthews, and the Cincinnati Bible War.” Her most recent book is The Lost Art of Dress, 2014.


Steven P. Brown is a professor of political science at Auburn University. He won the 2017 Hughes-Gossett Award for his article titled “The Girard Will and Twin Landmarks of Supreme Court History.” He is also the author of the only biography of Justice John McKinley, “John McKinley and the Antebellum Supreme Court: Circuit Riding in the Old Southwest,” which was published by the University of Alabama Press in 2012.


The 2016 Hughes Gossett Senior Prize Winner is Lieutenant Colonel Matthew S. Van Hook, United States Air Force, and Assistant Professor of Political Science, United State Air Force Academy for his article, “Founding the Third Branch: Judicial Greatness and John Jay’s Reluctance.”


The 2015 Hughes Gossett Senior prize winner is Jeffrey Gonda, Assistant Professor of History at The Maxwell School, Syracuse University for his paper, “Litigating Racial Justice at the Grassroots: The Shelley Family, Black Realtors, and Shelley v. Kraemer (1948).”


The Hughes Gossett Senior Prize for 2014 goes to a trio of distinguished professors; Pamela C. Corey, Associate Professor of Political Science at Southern Methodist University, Amy Steigerwalt, Associate Professor of Political Science at Georgia State University and Artemus Ward, Associate Professor of Political Science at Northern Illinois University. Together they authored “Revisiting the Roosevelt Court: The Critical Juncture From Consensus to Dissensus.”


Marlene Trestman received the Hughes Gossett Award in 2013 from Justice Samuel Alito for her article titled “Fair Labor: The Remarkable Life and Legal Career of Bessie Margolin (1909-1996)