SCHS: Programs & Events — Rosette Detail

Supreme Court Historical Society Annual Meeting

The Annual Lecture will be delivered virtually in the afternoon on Monday, June 6, 2022. The Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, Jeffrey Sutton, will present a lecture focusing on his recent book Who Decides? States as Laboratories of Constitutional Experimentation. The book discusses the nature of federalism, comparing state governments with the federal government. He maintains that the constitutions of individual states should be taken into account when thinking about American constitutional law, and that they play a critical role in protecting the rights guaranteed by the Constitution of the United States itself. The book follows up on his previous book 51 Imperfect Solutions: States and the Making of American Constitutional Law.

Judge Sutton clerked for Justices Powell and Scalia, and was a partner at Jones Day, among other professional accomplishments. He is a long-time member of the Supreme Court Historical Society.

The Annual Meeting is chaired by Society Trustee Laurie Webb Daniel.

Not a member of the Supreme Court Historical Society?

  • Members can attend the Society’s Annual Lecture (virtual in 2022) and will receive invitations to all Society events when in-person programming resumes.

  • Members receive a 20 percent discount at the Society’s gift shop, both online and in-person.

  • And for a limited time, join for one year and get a second year for free.

Try the Society and see for yourself the engaging and informative work we do.

Annual Lecture Speakers

2019 — Justice Clarence Thomas, in conversation with David Rubenstein

2018 — Ed Whelan, Christopher Scalia and Paul Clement

2017 — John Sexton

2016 — Justice Stephen Breyer

2015 — The Honorable Brenda Hale

2014 — Byron Garner and Justice Antonin Scalia

2013 — Justice Sonia Sotomayor

2012 — Judith Resnick and Dennis Curtis

2011 — Noah Feldman

2010 — Judge Judith Kaye

2009 — Justice Stephen Breyer

2008 — Justice Samuel Alito

2007 — Judge Michael McConnell

2006 — Justice Anthony Kennedy

2005 — Judge Harvie Wilkinson

2004 — Judge John G. Roberts

2003 — Justice Anthony Kennedy

2002 — Justice Sandra Day O’Connor

2001 — Chief Justice William Rehnquist

2000 — Justice Stephen G. Breyer

1999 — Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg

1998 — Solicitor General Seth Waxman

1997 — Justice Clarence Thomas

1996 — Justice Harry Blackmun

1995 — Gerald Gunther

1994 — Justice Antonin Scalia

1993 — Herbert Brownell

1992 — Liva Baker

1991 — Chief Justice Warren Burger

1990 — Justice Lewis Powell

1989 — Justice Anthony Kennedy

1988 — Justice Sandra Day O’Connor

1987 — Judge Kenneth Starr

1986 — Daniel Meador

1985 — Judge Antonin Scalia

1984 — William Leuchtenberg

1983 — Judge Robert Bork

1982 — Henry Abraham

1981 — George Haskins

1980 — Maxwell Bloomfield

1979 — Benno Schmidt

1978 — Richard Morris