SCHS: Publications & Media — Rosette Detail

In Memoriam: Sandra Day O’Connor

Jim Duff, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Sandra Day O’Connor, Sonia Sotomayor and Elena Kagan on stage at the Newseum.

On April 11, 2012, the Supreme Court Historical Society paid tribute to Sandra Day O’Connor on the 30th Anniversary of her appointment to the Court by inviting Associate Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Sonia Sotomayor and Elena Kagan to discuss her accomplishments and her legacy (O’Connor had retired in 2006). The event was hosted by the Newseum and moderated by its President, Jim Duff, who is now the Executive Director of the Society.  It was a wonderful event, filled with warm anecdotes and great admiration for the pioneering Justice from Arizona. In remembrance of the late Justice O’Connor, who served as an Honorary Trustee of the Society for many years, we are posting the video of that entertaining and heartwarming panel discussion.

30th Anniversary of Justice O’Connor’s Appointment |

* * *

When Justice O’Connor retired in 2006 we published three articles in the Journal of Supreme Court History that merit rereading: